If you’re considering filing for a divorce in Mississippi, it’s absolutely critical to understand all of the initial costs involved along with the legal grounds that must be met to file for a formal divorce.
Are There Residency Requirements?
One spouse must be residing in the state for at least six months prior to the official date of the filing. A no-fault divorce can start in the county where either you or your spouse reside, but if one spouse is the plaintiff in a fault case, the proceeding must start where he/she resides if the defendant lives out of state or can’t be located. You and your spouse do not need to be legally separated first.
How Much Does a Divorce Cost in Mississippi?
The two basic costs are court costs and legal fees. Typically, the filing fee is around $150 with an extra $65 for publishing the divorce complaint if one of the spouses cannot be found. Beyond that, there are attorneys’ fees and those will vary based on the level of support and representation your particular case requires.
How Long Does a Mississippi Divorce Take?
With a no-fault divorce, there is a 60-day waiting period before the divorce is granted. Fault-based divorces have no waiting period.
Enlisting the help of a qualified divorce attorney can also guide you towards settling a divorce out of court, which is often the most time- and cost-effective option. This scenario will help you avoid drawn-out court procedures and can help you move onto the next chapter of your life more quickly.
Divorce proceedings can be difficult, time- and energy-consuming, and certainly something you shouldn’t attempt to resolve on your own. If you’re potentially considering divorce in Jackson or Brandon, it’s time to speak with a knowledgeable divorce and family law firm. Call The Law Offices of Rusty Williard today at (601) 824-9797 to learn more about our expertise and schedule a free consultation.